Skip to main content
Jane Austen's Sense & Sensibility

Sense & Sensibility

An enchanting adaptation of Jane Austen's classic novel about love and marriage.

Available to Passport members only Play
51m 50s

Episode 1

Mrs Dashwood is devastated when her husband dies. His estate and fortunte are bequeathed by law to his son from a previous marriage. The Dashwoods start a new life in Devonshire. The eldest daughter, Elinor, is upset to leave her sweetheart, while her younger sister, Marianne, quickly finds she has suitors to choose from.

Available to Passport members only Play
52m 13s

Episode 2


Marianne and Willoughby find themselves falling blissfully in love and Colonel Brandon is out of the picture when he is called away on urgent business in London. Elinor finally receives her visit from Edward, but his behaviour is so odd and distant that she is left far from reassured.

Available to Passport members only Play
52m 14s

Episode 3

Marianne learns the full extent of Willoughby's betrayal and wrongdoing from Brandon. When Elinor learns that Edward intends to honour his engagement to Lucy Steele, even after he is disinherited by his mother, she and Marianne decide to leave London.

Supported by

KCTS 9 Celebrates 50 Years of PBS on October 5th

Help Fund 50 More! Your early gift will be matched up to $30,000!