Skip to main content
0m 41s

Libraries Role in Society | Emilio Estevez

Emilio Estevez creative process for his new film 'The Public,' exposed him to several writers and researchers like Anne Lamott, who further illuminated, for him and for all of us, the vital role that libraries continue to play in serving and enriching their communities.

1m 52s

The Inspiration | Emilio Estevez

Actor, writer and director Emilio Estevez talks about his inspiration for making 'The Public,' a film dramatizing as a peaceful sit-in by the homeless inside a public library that escalates into a standoff with the police and attracts attention from the media.

1m 5s

Humanizing and Empowering | Ryan O'Dowd

The film "The Public" premieres Friday, April 5th, and Estevez, who wrote and directed the film, said that librarians assured him that he effectively captured the experience of life inside of a library, while O'Dowd, who is executive director of a large homeless shelter, avowed the same response from those he surveyed.

0m 45s

Film Development | Emilio Estevez

Emilio Estevez initially wanted to get started on his new film, 'The Public,' back in 2008. In this interview, filmed at the Miami Dade Public Library, Estevez talks about how the 2008 Recession stalled production, and wound up allowing him to rework the story, improving it and augmenting its relevance.

2m 10s

Favorite Character | Emilio Estevez

Emilio Estevez' new film, 'The Public,' has an ensemble cast, with actors like Alec Baldwin, Taylor Schilling, Gabrielle Union, Christian Slater, Jeffrey Wright, Jacob Vargas, Michael Kenneth Williams and Che “Rhymefest” Smith. Here, Estevez talks about who he would choose as his favorite character from the script he wrote.

0m 40s

Birth of Collaboration | Ryan O'Dowd

Ryan O'Dowd is Executive Director of Hesed House, the second largest homeless shelter in Illinois, and the author of the Librarian's Guide to Homelessness, and when PBS Books interviewed him at the Miami Dade Public Library, he talked about how he wound up having a sustained collaborative role in discussing the issues addressed by Emilio Estevez' new film, 'The Public.'

0m 36s

Libraries offer a Respite | Ryan O'Dowd

Ryan O'Dowd, speaking from his experience as the executive director of a large homeless shelter, describes libraries as a place offering more than shelter, but a respite for the homeless population of a community, which is at the crux of the events dramatized by writer, director, and actor Emilio Estevez in his new film, 'The Public.'

0m 38s

Gregory Pardlo | Miami Book Fair 2018

Gregory Pardlo on "Air Traffic: A Memoir of Ambition & Manhood in America" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Ashley Ford.

From the beloved Pulitzer Prize-winning poet: an extraordinary memoir and blistering meditation on fatherhood, race, addiction, and ambition.

16m 1s

Anna Clark | Miami Book Fair 2018

Anna Clark on "The Poisoned City:Flint's Water and the American Urban Tragedy" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Jeffrey Brown.

When the people of Flint, Michigan, turned on their faucets in April 2014, the water pouring out was poisoned with lead and other toxins.

17m 40s

Nic Stone | Miami Book Fair 2018

Nic Stone on "Odd One Out" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Ashley Ford.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

15m 3s

Rebecca Traister | Miami Book Fair 2018

Rebecca Traister on "Good and Mad: The Revolutionary Power of Women's Anger" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Ashley Ford.

From Rebecca Traister, the New York Times bestselling author of All the Single Ladies comes a vital, incisive exploration into the transformative power of female anger and its ability to transcend into a political movement.

16m 34s

David Levithan | Miami Book Fair 2018

David Levithan on Someday at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Ashley Ford.

Every day a new body. Every day a new life. Every day a new choice.

For as long as A can remember, life has meant waking up in a different person's body every day, forced to live as that person until the day ended. A always thought there wasn't anyone else who had a life like this.

17m 31s

Sara Farizan | Miami Book Fair 2018

Sara Farizan on "Here to Stay" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Ashley Ford.

What happens when a kid who’s flown under the radar for most of high school gets pulled off the bench to make the winning basket in a varsity playoff game?

15m 54s

David Grann | Miami Book Fair 2018

David Grann on "White Darkness" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Rich Fahle for PBS Books.

By the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon, a powerful true story of adventure and obsession in the Antarctic, lavishly illustrated with color photographs

16m 57s

Hampton Sides | Miami Book Fair 2018

Hampton Sides on "On Desperate Ground: The Marines at the Reservoir, The Korean War's Greatest Battle" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interview by Rich Fahle.

17m 18s

Kwame Alexander | Miami Book Fair 2018

Kwame Alexander on "Swing" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Rich Fahle.

New York Times bestselling authors Kwame Alexander and Mary Rand Hess (Solo) tell a lyrical story about hope, courage, and love that will speak to anyone who’s struggled to find their voice. And the surprise ending shines a spotlight on the issues related to our current social divide,

16m 52s

Curtis Sittenfeld | Miami Book Fair 2018

Curtis Sittenfeld on "You Think It, I'll Say It: Stories" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Rich Fahle.

A suburban mother of two fantasizes about the downfall of an old friend whose wholesome lifestyle empire may or may not be built on a lie. A high-powered lawyer honeymooning with her husband is caught off guard by the appearance of the girl who tormented her in high school.

17m 32s

Steve Kornacki | Miami Book Fair 2018

Steve Kornacki on "The Red and The Blue: The 1990s and the Birth of Political Tribalism" at the 2018 Miami Book Fair interviewed by Rich Fahle.

From MSNBC correspondent Steve Kornacki, a lively and sweeping history of the birth of political tribalism in the 1990s—one that brings critical new understanding to our current political landscape from Clinton to Trump

Supported by